Play Along–It’s A Liebster

liebster_awardThank you Genna Claire of writeamuck for nominating this blog with the Liebster Award. Liebster, in German, means favorite or sweetheart or darling. The idea behind the Liebster Award is to recognize up-and-coming blogs, blogs that are relatively new and promising.

Ms. Claire received her Liebster Award from a blogger in Scotland. She was also voted to the top of the YeahWrite.me challenge grid with her memorable post The Lost and Found.

On her “about me” page she writes, “I love porch swings, iced coffee with whole milk, fat rain drops and Robert Frost. … I love Malbec and bath tubs with feet and old doorknobs and tattoos and hymn lyrics and typewriter sounds…. But really, I just love to write.”

A Liebster Award is a nod from peers, other writers in the blogosphere who have stopped by and noticed. Awards like these are good fun.

So, in the spirit of playing along, below are facts about me, answers to my nominator’s questions, and a list of Liebsters I am nominating and asking to play, too.

Eleven random facts about me

1. The first time I tasted homemade chicken soup I was a senior in high school. The soup had wide egg noodles and large bites of chicken and carrots, and I didn’t know chicken soup could be so delicious.

2. My boyfriend’s mother made that soup to cheer me up, since I had been sick with mono for five weeks.

3. The next time I ate homemade chicken soup I was in college, studying culture and history in Cuernavaca, Mexico. There, chicken soup is seasoned with fresh lime. It is delicious, too.

4. My Cuernavacan host mother made the broth of her soup from scratch with a whole chicken carcass. She ate the feet of the carcass for breakfast. She giggled when I winced.

5. My own mother does not make homemade chicken soup.

6. I learned to snow ski on a family trip to Park City, Utah when I was nine. I also learned the sun tans your face, even in the cold and snow.

7. I learned about water skiing when I was a preschool. Dad held me as the boat pulled him out of the water. I climbed onto his shoulders, sat, and waved a mini American flag for my audience in the boat. We did that trick for a few summers, until I grew too big for the shoulder ride.

8. Thirty years later, I water skied with my dad and sister. I shed my skis and climbed their shoulders, making our first family pyramid. It was the only summer in my adult life I felt strong enough and steady enough to attempt such a stunt.

9. I will give the gift of homemade chicken soup and skiing to my daughters, too.

10. I love vacations near water–in cities with sea ports or in cabins by the lake.

11. Sitting by a calm, glassy water in the morning is one of my favorite parts of summer.

Eleven questions from my nominator

What is your favorite blog (other than your own)?

Blogs that make me laugh out loud are usually my favorite such as Not Quite Old and Nonsense to Mom’s Sense (of Humor).

Which of your own blog posts are you most proud of (links please!)?

Make a Face

Oblivious Men: A Note on Happy Hour

If you could do anything for a living other than what you currently do, what would it be?

I’d be a public speaker, traveling the country, speaking to large crowds with a funny, educational message. I would sell out venues and have a personal assistant to take care of all my whims.

What book has had the greatest impact on your life?

The books I keep thinking about and want to read again are Malcolm Gladwell’s Outliers and Blink.

What writer has had the greatest impact on your writing?

I admire Barbara Kingsolver. I admire how her background in science reveals itself in her fiction. If I were to finish one of my manuscripts, her style of weaving nature and biology into story would most likely influence me.

If you could spend a week writing in any city in the world, where would you go?

I would want to go to a city near water such as San Francisco.

What’s your best cure for writer’s block?

Walking, doing dishes, taking a shower–something physical realigns my thoughts.

If you had to write a six-word memoir for your life thus far, what would it be?

Daughters hold hands; I watch, content.

What fictional character would you want to meet most in real life?

Dany, Mother of Dragons, from the Game of Thrones.

Where do you usually get the most inspired for blog ideas?

I use writing prompts. I like writing challenges, too.

What book(s) do you have on your coffee table?

A Dora puzzle book with some crayons, colored paper, scissors.


And the Liebster Award nominations go to …

W.T.F. Words. Thoughts. Feelings.
“…my writing is random, humorous takes on being a woman, being Momma and this crazy world spinning all around me.”

Can I Take A Nap First?
“A productive station for my procrastination.”

Herding Turtles
“We do that song and dance every morning getting dressed. Getting to the breakfast table. Getting in the car. Getting out of the car. Despite my best deep breathing and ‘kids will be kids’ mantras, I feel like I spend a lot of time urging them along.”

Tell Me Another
“So many stories to tell, one has to start somewhere. …I’ll keep them short, because time is short and longer is more daunting. And I hope that those of you who figure in these stories or whose stories intersect with mine will … enter into conversation with them.”

Goodnight Already
“At Goodnight Already, we love our kids. We love other things too like sleep and movie binges, good books, long runs, IPA, perfect avocados, and dessert. We believe in the following paradox: that self care is essential to good parenting; that self care while parenting often feels impossible.”


Your mission Liebster Award nominees is to write eleven random facts about you and answer eleven questions and nominate up to eleven blogs you find promising. (Notice I named five. It makes you all more special that way.)

If you decide to play along, I hope you’ll enjoy the excuse to pass a positive nod on to another writer.

Here are your questions.

1. If you had to write a six-word memoir for your life thus far, what would it be?
2. What is your favorite color and how is it represented in your home?
3. If you could do anything for a living, what would it be?
4. Who has been the greatest influence in your life and why?
5. What writer or fictional character would you like to emulate if you could?
6. If you could spend a week writing in any city in the world, where would you go?
7. What is your favorite writing exercise or prompt?
8. What’s your best cure for filling the page or blank screen?
9. Where is the place you usually find inspiration to write?
10. What are two books you have on your shelf or stored in your e-reader?
11. Which of your own blog posts are you most proud of (links please!)?

Cheers!


Related post
Check out the blogs I nominated for the Sunshine Award.

12 thoughts on “Play Along–It’s A Liebster

  1. Oh my goodness, I’m both honored and quivering over this nomination. Thank you so much for both visiting my blog and considering it award-worthy. I’m jumping in ASAP….. as soon as I can get some sugar and caffeine into my bloodstream.

    Like

  2. i love how you put your eleven facts in story-form – enjoyable to read about your chicken soup journey!
    San Francisco seems like it would be a great place to live – climate wise! i got engaged there, pretty awesome city, so much to do!
    and GOT – nuff said! I’d be Arya.

    Like

Comments & Merriment Start Here

